Effective December 1, 2015, North Carolina General Statute 14-404(e1) requires applicants to sign a release of court orders concerning mental health and capacity for pistol purchase permits.
You MUST come in to the Sheriff’s Office within seven (7) business days after you have completed the online portion of the application to sign and notarize the release.
You MUST call the office prior to arriving to ensure a NOTARY is on duty. A list of offices are located on the right side of your screen.
OR You can mail the signed and notarized release to the Sheriff’s Office at 401 W. Sycamore St., Greensboro NC 27401. Your application process will not begin until this final step has been completed.
To apply for a permit click "READ MORE"
Under North Carolina General Statutes, the Sheriff of each county is directed to issue weapon permits to qualifying residents of his county, and to non-residents of the county who are collectors. Applications for permits will be accepted Monday through Friday between 8:00 am - 5:00 pm, excluding state holidays. All applications must be completed at the Sheriff's Office in the presence of an officer or the Pistol Permit Clerk. Applications may also be obtained at any of the District Offices, Monday through Friday between 8:00 am - 5:00 pm.(All applications must be signed in front of Sheriff's personnel).
Approved permits will be issued Monday through Friday between 8:00 am - 5:00 pm, excluding state holidays. There are no limits on the number of permits an applicant may obtain. Permits are valid for five years. Each Permit costs $5.00 and payment is due at the time of the permit application.
Applicants that are denied a permit will not receive a refund.
Each applicant for a license or permit shall be informed by the Sheriff within 14 days of the date of the application whether the license or permit will be granted or denied and, if granted, the license or permit shall be immediately issued to the applicant.
An applicant must be at least twenty-one years of age and a legal resident of Guilford County. Applicants between eighteen and twenty-one years of age are eligible for a permit but it would not be valid for sales from federally licensed dealers.
The applicant must list on the application one of the following reasons for purchasing the weapon:
- Protection of the home, business or property;
- Target shooting;
- Collecting; or
- other (specify)
The applicant must present a valid North Carolina driver's license or a North Carolina Special Identification card showing a current address. The name and address on your application must match your ID. You may apply for a handgun permit at any of the listed locations.
Law Enforcement Center
401 West Sycamore St
Greensboro, NC 27401
Phone: (336) 641-3005
High Point Detention Center
507 East Green Drive
High Point, NC 27261
Phone: (336) 641-6952
7506 Summerfield Rd
Summerfield, NC 27358
Phone: (336) 641-2300
5440 Millstream Rd
McLeansville, NC 27301
Phone: (336) 641-2680
211 Hillstone Dr
Jamestown, NC 27282
Phone: (336) 641-6691